THE FIRST TIME

Sometimes whenever we think of the word ‘first time‘, we mostly relate it to love like ” when was your first kiss“, “who was your first love“, “when/how was your ‘first time’?” etc  but it’s very broad and could be related to anything. The question is, how do we come about our first times? What does it really take?  Let’s take an example; me…

I am a very reserved/shy/conservative/calm person and so everything I literally do could be termed ‘my first time’ because believe me, I don’t do a lot of things…I get a lot of comments like “Sammy you need to go out more, Sammy you need try this new thing ” and it goes on and on. But Sammy won’t listen because she’s stuck in her famous comfort zoneyeah the comfort zone;killer of opportunities, discoveries and adventures. Someone once said “Life begins at the end of your comfort zone” and I think he was right. Sitting all day long and doing the same things over and over again won’t get us nowhere and we keep marching on the same spot.Then i learnt that great things never came from comfort zones. So this is when the question ‘how do we come about our first times’ gets a clear answer: STEP OUT OF YOUR COMFORT ZONE.

  • It’s kind of hard trying for we assume it might change who we are, our beliefs and mostly we are scared of being judged by others who literally know nothing about our lives. But trying new things could be very enriching at times: we get to know ourselves better, what could really suit us and what couldn’t, the dos and don’ts of life too..so ask yourself this one question: ‘what’s the worst that could happen?’ You may or may not like it and that’s fine..not everything is for everyone and that’s fine too…so just chill..

What does it really take to try the first time? It’ll take you courage, self-discipline and definitely a to-do list considering you need to plan your work. Life could be unpredictable and certain things might happen on their own but for those little conscious things you wanna do but are too scared to do them, you need to plan. You could pick one of your bold and crazy friends to encourage your lazy self into doing them.

Last but not the least, you know yourself and your limits so please do listen to your instincts as they never fail us. And if you ever have a doubt, then STOP and turn away.Prevention is better than cure though..

Finally, take a bold step and make many ‘first times’ as possible. Read books, go out more, play and enjoy life. Remember, you are only confined by the walls you build yourself and if you want something you’ve never had, then you must do something you’ve never done before. Do one thing everyday that scares you and maybe you’ll see life differently.

                                                                                                                                                       Sammy J

22 thoughts on “THE FIRST TIME

  1. Jyde

    Lol..great one Sammy! There’s always a first time. The first time I did a presentation in school was so bad that I said ‘good morning my fellow lecturers. But I didn’t let it get to me..no matter how bad your first time is, always make every time feel like your first time. Don’t loose that zeal.. Fire.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great piece sammy
    A major part of our make up is the SPIRIT OF EXCELLENCE, which we inherited from God our father and creator.
    Excellence is who we are. Your real “you” is the excellent “you”. Anything less than that is an aberration. The excellent” “You” is the one who sees big accomplishment in every small venture. The one who sees no impossibility to what he can achieve. The one who is able to envision a beautiful ending from every small and cloudy beginning. That is who we are.
    I have had my first time experiences too. But what baffles me most is that people give great compliments even in my first time endeavour, which raises my shoulders and thus spur me to do more.

    Like

  3. Ray Prime

    hey world…fighter??!!!..yea indeed am one.
    …well to be honest i am shy by nature…but i thought to myself…what if there was something better and awesome on the other side of my shyness and fear…so i forced myself to change and believe me…my life has been a series of “FIRST TIME”s…which i find really cool.
    ..i love trying new stuff

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s perfect time to make a few plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy.
    I have learn this put up and if I may I want to suggest you few interesting
    things or tips. Maybe you could write next articles relating to this article.
    I desire to read more things about it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. janeez

    Been trying to find a way to get out of my comfort zone….a lot of things scare me. But now I’m making a list and I’m definitely going to do those things!! Thank u Sammy. Very motivational.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

