Don’t let your thoughts control you

 

thoughts

“Change your thoughts and you change your world”.

 

Thoughts…in a day, you’ll hear someone say ” I just thought about X or Y” and it could go on over and over again. They are our ideas, opinions, and beliefs about ourselves and the world around us. They include the perspectives we bring to any situation or experience, which color our point of view . They may be temporary or permanent, for better or for worse. The permanent ones become an attitude and an attitude becomes a lifestyle. So, if you are aware of your thoughts and attitudes, you can change them. I know my blog is all about thoughts, my feelings and all the rest, and so I’ll be expecting questions like “Sammy are you not expressing yourself on this blog? Are your thoughts not controlling you? Well…my answer is YES and NO. Let me explain ,I’m an amazing thinker…I’ll rather spend my days and time on my own thinking about God knows what than engage in a conversation. For sure, by thoughts I mean the negative ones…

Yes, they control me…

HOW? I created a barrier in such a way that I was no longer talking. The primary cause of unhappiness is never the situation but your thoughts about it. If I needed something, I’ll imagine all the possible ways the answer will be no and I’ll end up not asking . This made me bitter for I thought they were against me, that they were wicked, they wouldn’t let me be free. Truth is, did I even express myself? I was just in my thoughts and I let them take over my life and decisions. Honestly speaking, the way I have ideas, sometimes I think I should have been a scenarist or movie producer, manager cuz I literally create movies in my head. Over thinking brings nothing but headaches. If you feel you need something or want to say something, then talk about it. Stop inventing and believing it’s the true way and possibly the outcome of things. There’s a world beyond your thoughts. Don’t believe everything you think. Get out of them.

NO, they don’t control me…

HOW? I learnt to put them into positive writing. Proof, I created this blog. Just imagine I was keeping all this to myself..pff such a waste. Now, when I have stuff that go through my mind, I jot them down. Even a single word could be crucial to something I plan to do or it might just inspire me on a new post. I turn those ideas into my diary or just poems and amazingly, sometimes I write songs (oh yeah) and then I remember I’m not recording and I forget the melody (smh). Sincerely, writing has enabled me to express myself, to be able to even practice what I talk about cuz every single time I write about something, God finds a way to make me do or apply it. I have to preach by example. It makes my world a little better because I have no barriers when I write and I’m not scared of being judged. I know I’m not alone in this so I just do me.

Blogging worked for me but this doesn’t prevent me from having a few bad thoughts once in a while. I then try to use a few other tips:

  • Keep good company. Whenever I get into one of my crazy days with the tempting thoughts, I call a friend or just start texting. Not just a friend, but a positive one. The always optimistic, sarcatic and fun-to-be-with friend. This gets me away from the negative thoughts.
  • Distract yourself. Listen to music, go to the mall, to the park, have some fun, watch comedy skits. You know what can really makes you happy so go for it.
  • Re-frame the situation. I always try to see positivity in everything. If I miss my bus,then I might as well decide to sit and have my lunch or breakfast I didn’t have the chance to take. If I’m delayed at the airport, I can use this opportunity to call a family member and catch up time. There’s always something good out of everything if we look keenly.

Finally, don’t let your thoughts control you. Make something productive out of it and don’t be scared to voice out your ideas. You could blog, have a diary, sing, just play around and forget or better still, talk about them. I’m still working on my talking skills though and when some of my friends read my posts, they actually wonder if I really do write them. I’m just a quiet girl with a racing mind. All actions result from thoughts, so your thoughts are the most important part. Change the bad thoughts into happy ones and fly. Brave them and be your own master but remember, positive thoughts are not enough. There have to be positive feelings and actions too. God bless.

Sammy J.

8 thoughts on “Don’t let your thoughts control you

  1. Thanks for sharing, Sammy! Those are great tips; I especially like “keep good company.”

    I’m glad that writing has been a productive form of expression for you, and that you are finding ways to translate the things you write about into real-world action. Isn’t that a great feeling?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you miles😊. It’s definitely a great feeling translating it into real-world action and I’m thinking of making it bigger. Maybe a book out of all this and thank God you’re there to talk about writing tips😊. Thanks for checking my blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

