Growth is painful.

growth

Just yesterday I spoke about stepping out of our comfort zones. From my perspective, it looked like an abracadabra kinda magic tour and pouf, you’re out of it. But what we forget sometimes is the process through it; having to face our fears, sometimes even trying to please others instead of ourselves and other times, getting lost in our quest of new experiences. Truth be told, GROWTH/CHANGE IS PAINFUL.

Consider a seed. When planted, first the soil needs to be a goos one. And even if thesoil is well take care of, it needs other fators; water and sun to be able to grow well. Now, the weather is never constant. We do have rainy storms and scorching suns and the seed while growing, could face difficulties. The weak ones may die, but the strong ones, those who adapt and endure everything, bloom into strong trees. You still following right? Good…

Let me talk about our growth with God. I’m sure each and every one of us want to grow closer to God, we wanna be filled with His spirit and be able to be used. But are we willing to go through the process? The tribulations, pain, and are we willing to endure? I’m not saying walking with God is all about pain but we do realize we have tests right? So when we usually want that strong relationship, we go about making promises and taking oaths “Lord I promise to read my Bible everyday. Lord if I ever sin again may I never do this and that”. Sometimes we even bring curse upon ourselves in the process. I have done that. Week 1, I’m all into my Bible and everything is ok. Week 2, I start dropping the rate. Maybe the Bible study classes I was going to make me miss outings with friends, I don’t like it. Week 3, I read just one time a day instead of three. One month, it’s once in a bluemoon till I fall back. So what happens to the promises now? We just broke them and now we owe God right? We have to be ever so careful with what we say. We often rush to speak on something but we really don’t have a clue about what we are saying. The Bible warns us to not be hasty with our words and promises to God. Are you going to deliver when He calls you out on your declarations?

Again you have heard that it was said to those of old, ‘You shall not swear falsely, but shall perform to the Lord what you have sworn.’ But I say to you, Do not take an oath at all, either by heaven, for it is the throne of God, or by the earth, for it is his footstool, or by Jerusalem, for it is the city of the great King. And do not take an oath by your head, for you cannot make one hair white or black. Let what you say be simply ‘Yes’ or ‘No’; anything more than this comes from evil.” Mathew 5.33-37

Let’s get to it, be honest with yourself and God. If you aren’t there don’t fake it. Take your time and be truthful in your every move else you’ll break  before you notice it. Ask for strength to be able to make it to the end. Patience is the key! You must truly want this to actually go for it. Love conquers all. God is concerned with our heart/inner being because He knows that your actions will be more genuine once your heart changes. Someone told me “Memorizing scriptures and regurgitating spiritual lingo doesn’t mean you are spiritually mature or holy. Walking around fully covered doesn’t mean you’re spiritually mature either if your heart isn’t right.” I second that. Sometimes we find ourselves even looking for Bible quotes to look all spiritually intelligent or spiritually fit. But what does our heart say about us? Are we really searching God or looking for human approval or popularity? Once in a while I do a Twitter thread about something I learned from reading the Bible. I do that because I hope to enlighten someone and even to encourage myself more, not to give up. At times, it’s not the case so you do understand that the flesh might take over at times.

Again, God is more focused on our hearts because from that flows EVERYTHING. Our motives, speech, behaviors. Just be real. “Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.” (Proverbs 4.23). I live by this quote daily. Protect your heart. As you grow in Christ things, will not be forced over time. You will literally just behave like Him. That’s the beauty of being born again. You will no longer say, “I can’t do this because I’m a Christian.” No, you won’t do or say something because that isn’t who you are. It will flow naturally. Remember, during every journey, you will have to leave certain things behind: friendships, your comfort, old jobs, because now you’re heading for something bigger, higher. You’ll have to choose your priorities and what should come first. What’s more important: the Bible studies or the outings with friends? No one’s asking you not have friends, but you shouldn’t go against ur priorities/plans just to please. I’m sure you’ll be abe to find a compromise and know which is more important. (this is just an example) That’s why I said change, growth is painful because you’re leaving what you’re alreay used to and you’re going for the uncertain, the new. But rest assured, just as your walk in Christ, that new journey you’re undertaking will definitely be worth it. 

I pray in all you do, you never get to give in easily. Make you grace through it all. May you be consistent, may you have courage to endure and the patience to wait on the results. Growth and comfort don’t co-exist. Grow and be proud of it. It might be painful be it’s worth it. God bless.

Sammy J.

One thought on “Growth is painful.

Leave a Reply

