Nothing but a mask…

mask

How often do you wear a smile looking all pretty when deep inside, it’s nothing but darkness and a world so cold?

How often do you act complete and in control when truly, your whole entity is nothing but broken pieces and a huge void?

How often do you wear makeup to cover up the sadness and bags under your eyes?

How often do you wear that mask, when as soon as you get home, you cry all night?

How often do you offer your friendship, time, love and care yet return to loneliness and unfufilment?

How long do you keep pretending everything is alright when in reality, you’re drowning in hurt and pain?

How ironical is it that the people experiencing the most pain tend to be the ones who try to make others happy; simply because they don’t want others to go through what they’re going through.

We put on masks to avoid being judged or due to societal pressures. If we say we are sad or we need help, we may be tagged as sensitive, incompetent, that we complain too much.

Sometimes we have those masks cuz we feel no one would understand us or maybe because we are so busy spending time on social media we forget those around us. We miss the signs and that’s how we end up with suicide cases and everyone wonders: “But how? She was always jovial and happy? Always willing to help and was there for everyone?Why did she do it?”

But who paid attention to the teary eyes behind the smile? Who paid attention to the sluggishness or lack of motivation? Who paid attention to the little words inbetween phrases like “I’m tired of life. I can’t do this no more. I just wanna leave this place“.Who paid attention to the loss of interest in anything?

They say the people who exhibit the most kindness have experienced a lot of pain. The ones who act like they don’t need love, are the ones who need it the more. The ones who take care of eeryone else’s needs are the ones who need it most.And the people who smile a lot may be the ones who cry when there is no one around.

Because laughter isn’t the only best mdicine, it’s also the best disguise. I of all people, should know that.

It doesn’t matter how jovial and good looking someone might look. Take time to ask questions. Pay attention. Be there for your friends. Check up on them. Love and care for them. Be kind to one another because we may be dealing with battles no one knows about. We may be at the verge of giving up but a single act of concern lets us know we are not alone.

I do hope and pray anyone who feels less of a person and unworthy of whatsoever heal and be whole again. I pray that smile you fake turns into a genuine one. May you radiate love and hapiness. May your outside reflect your inside. May you be the best version of yourself. So drop your mask and own up for what’s breaking you. There’s beauty even in your brokenness. God bless you.

Sammy J.

12 thoughts on “Nothing but a mask…

  1. Yeah! That could be me but! It isn’t! Even in my miserable past, my misery was never private. lol I made everybody miserable along with me. Man O Man! Thanks goodness! Father finally got HIs way with me. Now, I bring all my misery to Him. He is the only One that can trash my misery and replace it with the joy of His Presence in my heart. Hahaha! HalleluYah! Others rejoice with me and, the Father? His laughter resounds in the heavens! A sinner has come home! Much love, thiaBasilia. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always considered removing my mask a sign of weakness. However in my old-age I’m becoming more vulnerable. Showing my feelings was always perceived to be the worst thing that could happen. But now I know it really isn’t and just like you said there is beauty in your brokenness. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

