I never wanted to hurt you. I just don’t know how to act when I’m hurt.

hurt

“It’s both a blessing and a curse to feel everything so very deeply”

Emotions have got to be the most difficult yet delicate things to handle. Too little emotions sets you off as being heartless and too much as being too sensitive and over-reactive. I am extreme when it comes to my emotions for I care way too much, think way too much, observe way too much. Analyze way too much so sometimes, I misunderstand too quickly. And when it reaches the point where I no longer care, I literally wipe off everything. So basically, it’s all or nothing for me. Reasons why some of my decision making are over the top.

I’m the friend who cracks up at your jokes and is so goofy about everything I can make you forget about stress. I’m the friend to cry with you when you’re overwhelmed with life. I’m the friend to carry your problems like they were mine and walk with you through the steps. I’m also the friend to give you the silent treatment when you act wrong.(I’m working on that). I’m also the friend to distance myself or push you away when my feelings just took the highway and everything feels like a roller coaster.

Sometimes we put up walls not to keep people out but to see who cares enough to break them down. While this could be good, it’s wrong too cuz you might be pushing away people who genuinely care for you and one can take just so much before reaching breaking point. We are playing mind games and it’s draining in the long run. 

  • How do you act when you feel hurt or life comes at you real fast?
  •  How do you react when you’re going through real tough periods? 
  • How is your relationship with your loved ones?
  • Do you feel like you’re being misunderstood or maybe you’re the one who’s misunderstanding them or their actions? 
  • Are you patient? 
  • Are you open-minded or simply stubborn? 
  • Do you shut people out? 
  • What’s in your heart at the moment?

Our emotions need to be as educated as our intellect. It is important to know how to feel, how to respond and how to let life happen so it can touch you. Allow yourself to feel but donot let it control you. Know when but most especially how to channel them. If they are too much at the moment, take some time out to handle them but always try to express yourself in the end. Unexpressed emotions will never die, they are buried alive and they’ll come forth in uglier ways. You can’t become a monster and treat people like shit just because you’re going through things and you don’t know how to manage your emotions. Never let your emotions empower your intelligence. Every test is a lesson. Every lesson is a blessing if only you choose to see the message.

Feelings are like waves. You can’t stop them from coming but you can decide which one to surf. Anybody can get angry, that is easy. But be angry for the right reasons at the right people, to the right degree, at the right time and for the right purpose. Don’t walk around pouring anger on everyone. Emotional intelligence. I’ve hurt a whole lot of people simply because I couldn’t handle my feelings and I really had to evaluate myself. I hope you don’t get to make the same mistakes. Be thoughtful about everything you do.


In relation to this post, you can read this to accentuate what I mean

https://sprinkleofthoughtssite.wordpress.com/2017/04/04/who-are-you-really-mad-at/

Have a blessed weekend. God bless.

Sammy J.

15 thoughts on “I never wanted to hurt you. I just don’t know how to act when I’m hurt.

  1. This right here is Emotional Intelligence 101. So much to learn from this. The first two paragraphs described me so well. I’m learning how to express feelings now and not push people away. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

